Skip to content

Cooking up a Storm

August 28, 2011

I typically spend a few hours on Sunday preparing food to have during the week.  Mike and I both take our lunch to work most days so its nice to have yummy options that we can quickly put together in the morning.   Not only does this save time but its also a way of ensuring that we eat healthy and that we don’t spend too much money eating out.

food 001

Healthy Carrot Cake Power Scuffins – This is a a super healthy cookie that mike and I enjoy as a mid morning snack or as breakfast.   I use the  OSG recipe except I use honey instead of maple syrup.  food 011

Zucchini Fritters – Tasty thing to do with the excess zucchini from my garden.  Inspired by Smitten Kitchen (I used garlic instead of chives).  These can be eaten with just about anything, egg, beef, plain, I like to dip them blue cheese dressing (but I’m odd).

food 012

Korean style Pork ribs – Such a simple recipe and quickly becoming one of Mikes favorite.  I made this once before using beef short ribs and while it was delicious we only got 3 servings from $10 of meat and that just doesn’t cut it for a homemade meal. (You may think I’m cheap but $10 of pork loin or ribs makes at least 6 servings and its technically healthier than beef).

1 rack (about 3lbs) pork loin ribs

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup water

Throw it all in a crock pot and turn it on low for 9 hrs.  Eat.

food 013

Steamed broccoli with soy sauce and sesame oil (healthy side to the Korean pork).  I only recently learned that I can steam veggies by putting them in a closed Tupperware in the microwave with a little water.  Brilliant!

food 015

Normal Brown Uncle Bens Rice (also a side for the Korean pork).  Absolutely nothing special about this recipe except that if you insist on eating white rice you are dumb.  Brown is way healthier and taste just as yummy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    September 8, 2011 2:20 pm

    Your cooking amazes me. I wish I could cook as much as you! Love reading about it!!!

Leave a Reply

