Skip to content

El Scorcho

August 14, 2011

Post marathon I needed motivation to run so in addition to the Wounded Warrior Half I also registered for El Scorcho (actually La Scorchita the 25k).  This is a race that starts at midnight in the middle of summer in Texas.  I don’t know what I was thinking.   It was so terribly hot.  

One fun thing about the race, perhaps the only fun thing, is that everyone wore glow in the dark stuff.  I was all decked out with necklace, bracelets and earrings.  It was so hot muggy that I started dropping my decorations less than 1 mile into the race.

My number #1 fan (still injured) entertained himself during the race with Mr. Modelo and Taco Bell.  He cracks me up.  The race was a 3 mile loop so it was fun to run past my fan club over and over again.  imageIt took longer than I expected (by 2 minutes that I technically lost while taking a potty stop) but I did finish.  For real this time I will never ever ever run a race in the summer again.  Glad I did this race once, it was really interesting to run at midnight.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

