Skip to content

Cowtown Marathon

March 2, 2011

So last Sunday I finished the Cowtown Marathon….all 26.2 miles of it. 

I was nervous for days before the race but on the morning of the race I was relatively calm except for stressing about the weather.  The weather was totally not ideal race weather and completely different than I had been training in.  There is a huge difference running in temps in the 70’s vs 40’s.  The weather was one thing I had no control over and it was just bad luck that it turned out so awful. 

We got to the race about an hour early and other than visiting the porta 4 times, I entertained myself by reading the clever shirts people were wearing.  My favorites “I thought you said 2.62”, “I’m only doing this so I can post a picture on Facebook” and “(front) My first marathon (back) My last marathon”.  People are so clever.

cowtown 005

The before picture in the corral.  Despite waking up at 4:45am Mike was in a great mood.  (I would be too if I was not the one running the marathon.)cowtown 011

Mike spent the whole race spectating.  He met me the first time around mile 6.  At this point I still had a smile.  I think I saw mike 6 times during the race so he wins the award for best husband/spectator.

cowtown 021

Not sure what mile this pic was taken but apparently I was still in a good mood.  cowtown 015

Not in such a positive mood when this picture was taken.  I think it was around mile 17.  serious

Who looks tired? That would be me.Untitled-2

After 26.2 (Garmin said 26.5) FINALLY I finished!Untitled-6Untitled-1

Untitled-4Untitled-5

Can you say exhausted?  Completely and totally, 100% more whipped than I have ever felt in my whole entire life. 

Untitled-7

cowtown 027

We went to lunch at Joe T Garcias after the race.  The first sip of Corona made me so happy.  Tasted way better than Gatorade and water!

Before the race I was saying/thinking that my goal was just to finish.  Well, I lied.  I had a time I wanted to beat and I did not.  Yes, I am happy I finished but not as happy as I would be if I finished within my goal time.   I mostly blame the weather for my poor performance but I know that I could have done better despite the heat.  I should have trained harder.  I should have pushed harder during the race but I slacked.  I am happy that I finished but I need to do better.  Basically, I need to run another Cowtown Marathon again someday.  Oh joy, oh bliss.  I cannot believe I am going to do another marathon.  I am still in pain from the first.  I am such a freak.    

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mother Nature permalink
    March 3, 2011 12:38 pm

    Wow, sorry.

  2. Fern permalink
    March 8, 2011 2:08 pm

    I am sp proud of you!! I wish I could have been there in person cheering you on!! YOU ARE AWESOME!!

Leave a Reply

