Skip to content

Another reason I love Food Network

October 18, 2010

005

Fusilli with Spicy Pesto, Recipe courtesy Giada De Laurentiis (with my twist)

Prep Time: 10 min
Inactive Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: 34 min
Level: Easy
Serves: 4 to 6 servings

Ingredients

Pesto:
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 (2-inch long) red or green jalapeno pepper, stemmed and coarsely chopped (remove seeds if you want less or no spice)
  • 2 cups grated (4 ounces) Asiago cheese
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 ounces baby spinach (I do not weigh this, just eyeball 1/2 of a 6oz bag)
  • 3 ounces arugula (again I do not weigh this, just eyeball)
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound fusilli pasta (you can use whatever, I used whole wheat rotini)

Directions: For the pesto: In a food processor, combine, garlic, jalapeno, cheese, salt and pepper. Process until the mixture is smooth. Add the spinach and arugula and process until blended. With the machine running, gradually add the olive oil.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 to 10 minutes. Drain and reserve about 1 cup of the pasta water. Place the cooked pasta and pesto in a large serving bowl. Toss well and thin out the sauce with a little pasta water, if needed.

Season with salt and pepper, to taste and serve.

Does it get any easier than this.  Oh my delicious!  Mike did not love it and so I did not ask him to eat it (more leftovers for me).  I froze half of the pesto because as much as I want to, I don’t need to eat pasta for 6 meals in a week.  Next time I think I will use 2 jalapenos because I like spice.  This could totally work as a pasta salad because it pretty good cold too.  Hope you try it and enjoy!

004

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

