Skip to content

Running

September 23, 2010

I was out of town on Tuesday so I had to do my speed work at the hotel gym on a treadmill.  Normally this would not be an issue but the speed increase button in the treadmill was slow as molasses.  I would stand on the edge of the treadmill while I increase the speed then literally jump on and run my 1/4 mile.  Things were going well then in 6 of 8 I started feeling a grumbling in my belly.  I had been eating out for almost 2 days and in a strange environment I figured it was just indigestion.  During interval 7 of 8 the grumbling got worse.  At the end of #7 I literally jumped off the treadmill and sprinted to gym bathroom.  I wont go into details but lets just say that 14 cups of coffee and running don’t mix.  I called it a day and headed back to my hotel room to recover. 

Today was tempo run day.  Last weeks tempo sucked so I was very concerned about today.  I made sure to eat a big lunch making sure not to eat anything spicy.  I drank tons of water and I intentionally planned to get to the park late so it would be a little cooler.  I left work around 5:30 and because of traffic I did not make it to the park until 6:30.  The rest of the halfers were finished and I was jealous.  I felt good warming up and started with a strong pace in my tempo run.  I started having arch pain about half mile into the run and continued to ache the whole way.  I wasnt wearing my new shoes because I need to keep them on the treadmill until I am sure I want to keep them.  Despite the arch pain I was able to keep up the pace and even speed up during the last 1/4 mile.  The cooler weather totally helped me.  I finished 1.75 miles in 17:46 (10:09/mile).  I’m only supposed to aim for 10:17 to 10:44 so I was a little faster than necessary (yea).  The best part is that I am not afraid of tempo run anymore.  

Coach Bill invited me to run my long run on Sunday at the park because they have a race going on.  I would be able to use the water stations and run with other people for a change.  I havent decided for sure but I am considering it. I am actually kinda considering just running the race.  Its a funky distance 10.486 miles (2/5th of a marathon).  What to do….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

