Skip to content

The Green Monster

March 29, 2010

Over the past few weeks/months I have noticed people in blog land talking about Green Monsters. I knew it was a smoothie and I knew it was green but only last Friday did I figure out what it really is. Basically it is a fruit and spinach (or kale) smoothie. You’re wrong if you think it is gross. Apparently Angela from the blog Oh She Glows http://www.ohsheglows.com/ was the person who first blogged about the green monster. Because of the amount of reader comments about the green monster she started a separate page dedicated to the green monster. www.greenmonstermovement.com Angela says “I have noticed a HUGE increase in my energy, along with a decrease in cravings for sweets. My skin has also become more clear and my hair and nails started growing like weeds!” If it taste good and has the positive side effects that Angela has then I am all about the Green Monster. I looked through the many many recipies on the green monster movement website but I decided to just try to come up with my own concoction. Yesterday was my first try and I mixed 1 handful spinach, blueberries, pineapple, plain yogurt, ½ banana, juice of 1 orange, milk and chocolate whey protein. Although my result was not green (because of the blueberries) it sure was good. Today I made my second monster for breakfast (2 handful spinach, blueberries, pineapple, mango, milk, yogurt, juice of 1 orange and ½ banana) and this one was light green. So yummy and filling. I plan to make green monsters regularly. I love new food finds!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

