Skip to content

Healthy

March 10, 2010

The number one sign of my old age is my slowing metabolism. When I was in high school I would get home from soccer practice and just pig out on snacks until dinner was ready. I would eat entire large pizzas all by myself and not gain a single ounce. Sadly, those days are long gone. At least 4 out of 7 days a week (Mon-Thurs) I eat pretty healthy. I love the salad bar and I have become a fan of barley and lentils. I can totally enjoy a good healthy veggie side item or fruit smoothie (with whey protein). Even though I eat moderately healthy I think I can do better. So….I have joined (6 week trial) a organic fruit and vegetable co-op.
Explanation: I will pay a small membership fee and then for $25 every other week I will receive 7-15 lbs of locally grown organic produce. (Because it’s just Mike and I in the house I am only getting a half share. Full share is $50 and you get 15-30lbs of produce). A sample of the goods I will receive is a variety of Bok Choy, Broccoli, Carrots, Cucumbers, Garlic, Red Leaf Lettuce, Red Onions, Yukon Gold Potatoes, Spinach, Roma Tomatoes, Braeburn Apples, Lemons, Avocados, Bananas, Valencia Oranges, Bosc Pears. How yummy! I am also excited about trying new veggies and recipes with all the items.
I don’t know when I will get my first share but I will be sure to post pictures. If you are interested in participating information is available at www.yourhealthsource.org. They have locations all over Texas, Colorado and Oklahoma.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 9:56 pm

    yeahhh so glad you signed up for one!! I am loving mine

  2. March 13, 2010 2:40 am

    I have always wanted to join a co-op like that. You've inspired me to go find one!

Leave a Reply

