Skip to content

Oh Julia!

January 11, 2010

Today I made Beouf Bourguignon (Beef Stew in Red Wine, with Bacon, Onions and Mushrooms). This is a Julia Child recipe from her cookbook Mastering the Art of French Cooking. This is the recipe that is made twice in the movie Julie and Julia. This is the recipe that I have been obsessed with making since I first saw the movie back in November. Just like in the movie, the recipe is very specific about the requirement of drying the meat in order for it to brown.

Here is the meat browning in the bacon fat and olive oil. Yummy!

Just before it goes into the oven for 2 1/2 to 3 hours.

While the beef in cooking away in the oven I make the Oignons Glaces a Brun (Brown-Braised Onions) and…

the Champignons Sautes au Beurre (Sauteed Mushrooms).
The onions and mushrooms will join the beef just before its finished.

I started cooking kinda late so I only let the beef cook 2 hours. I will never make that mistake again. The meat was very tender but the wine sauce did not have enough time to concentrate and so it was a little bland.
Although I am not 100% in love with this recipe it has potential and I will make it again, but I will try to conquer a few other recipes from the cookbook first (like the Crepes!).
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

