Skip to content

Hooked on Phonics

December 18, 2009

In the past month I have been a reading machine.
In Her Shoes, Jennifer Weiner – This book only 2 stars because I made the mistake of seeing the movie first so the book was very predictable. Lots of things that happen in the book are different than the movie but honestly I kinda prefer the movie.
My Sisters Keeper, Jodi Picoult – If you know me, you know I don’t cry often. When I was reading the last few chapters of this book I was on the deck of the cruise ship surrounded by people and I was crying up a storm. Now bawling or anything but enough to have tears rolling down the cheeks. I finished this book in less than 24 hours. Such a good story! I did not see the movie before I read the book but it arrived from Netflix yesterday so I’m sure a cry fest will be on the agenda for my weekend. I give it 3 ½ stars. Do you self a favor and read it!
The Street Lawyer, John Grisham – I love all things John Grisham. I have been reading his books since 7th grade and have always been very pleased. While the Street Lawyer is certainly not good enough to be turned into a movie it is a good relaxing read and I enjoyed it. 2 ¾ starts
The Quickie, James Patterson – I think I have only read 1 other Patterson book and well, he is super duper rich for a reason. Easy books to read. Entertaining enough that I will read more of his books. 2 ¼ stars
Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen, Christopher McDougall, A few weeks ago I posted that I was signed up for a 5k. Well I am really really trying hard to get into running and my dear husband told me about this book because they were talking about it on the radio. The impulse buyer that I am downloaded the book on my iPhone on Monday and started reading. I finished the book last night and well, it changed the way I think about running. I still hurt and it’s still tough to get my bottom off the couch but once I start running I feel better. If you’re in need of some motivation and easy reading entertainment then this is a book you should pick up. 3 ¼ Stars.
Last night I started reading Between A Rock and A Hard Place by Aron Ralston. He is the guy who was hiking in Utah and his arm got stuck and he had to cut it off to get free. So far it’s interesting and a little depressing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 6:13 am

    LOVED my sister's keeper. HATED the movie. The book was way different and so much better. I bawled my eyes out reading the last couple of chapters. Let me know what you think of the movie. (Don't you always think it's so much better to read the book first?? The movie is never as good.)

Leave a Reply

