Skip to content

I Scuba Dived

December 2, 2009

On Thanksgiving day the cruise stopped in Georgetown, Grand Cayman and Mike and I did the Discover Scuba Diving shore excursion. I must admit I was pretty nervous. When we arrived at the scuba place I was VERY relieved to find out that we were not going to have to take a boat to the middle of the sea to dive but instead we got to do a shore dive. After about 1 hour of basic instruction we got out of the pool and headed for the Caribbean sea. YIKES! I had never been out of the water with a take on and I was so shocked at how heavy the thing is. I am shocked my knees did not buckle under me. The reef that we were going to dive was really huge. We ended up diving for 40 minutes and at time our depth was 35-40 feet. HOLY COW. I was so shocked at how easy it was and how comfy I felt. You don’t physically feel any different at 40 feet than you do at 4 feet. It was so neat. I am soooooo kicking myself for not bringing a water proof camera! Not the most amazing reef in the world but it was just so neat to spend 40 minutes basically in a fish tank. I am seriously considering getting certified so I can make scuba a regular tropical vacation activity. I totally recommend that you put scuba on your list of things to do in life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 5:19 am

    Yes! Do it so we can go on vacations!! I love diving:)

Leave a Reply

