Skip to content

Why I gave a trick-or-treater cash

November 3, 2009

I was very excited about my first opportunity to participate in the adult/home owner aspect of Halloween and give candy to the germ carriers that stopped by my home. I spent a lot of time at Walgreens making sure to select candy that would satisfy a variety of people and not get me labeled as the cheap candy house. I was so excited about giving candy that I even kinda wore a costume, I had on my “Hillary for President” t-shirt. The first time my doorbell range I was greeted by a whole mini-van of kids. I had a ton of candy and I wanted a good reputation so I gave each a heaping handful. The oldest kid in the bunch was last and I started to offer her a heaping handful but she was not carrying a bag. Instead she had a little box and asked me if I would like to donate my change to UNICEF. Well golly-g-horn buckle I told her “of course” and I ran for my wallet. I just think she was awesome. I did a little research today and found out that this is a legit thing and I assume they do it every year. So the link is below, they are still accepting donations and keep this in mind next year. My poor kids will be forced to do this if its still happening in 2020 when I actually have a child.

http://youth.unicefusa.org/trickortreat/

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 4:48 pm

    I like this idea. Our kids can do it together… except I can't wait until 2020 for a baby!

Leave a Reply

