Skip to content

Internet Research Overload

November 2, 2009

99% of the time I love the internet and all the massive amounts of information available to me. Most recently I ran into the issue of information overload while researching what camera tripod to buy. Google sent me on a wild goose chase across the net. For every recommendation supporting a certain tripod I found valid reasons not to buy it. I literally did around 20 hours of research for a freaking tripod. I would think 20 hours of research would be logical if I was shopping for a new kidney but not for a tripod. I just got carried away and I was so easily swayed by all of the opinions of complete strangers. Really I would not have spent that much time researching but one of the first tripod buying tips I read was that if you pick the wrong tripod you risk it tipping over and your camera would go crashing to the ground. My camera has already taken one hard fall and that caused the death of a lens so tipping over was not a risk I was willing to take. Unfortunately a tripod that is “guaranteed” not to ever tip over I would need to spend literally hundreds of dollars. I was not cool with selling an organ to raise funds for a tripod so I narrowed my search to “best bargain tripod”. Ugh. I honestly don’t even know what I ended up buying. All I know is that it had 92 positive reviews on Amazon and only 4 negative and that it will arrive tomorrow. I will cross my fingers and hope my camera or another lens does not meet an untimely death by plummeting to the ground; if it does happen I can use the money I saved buying a bargain tripod to purchase a better lens. That’s logical, right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 10:48 pm

    Someone's not busy at work right now… Nice email sig.

Leave a Reply

