Skip to content

Corporate USA

October 27, 2009

I have been at the same company since February 10, 2003 and never once was I forced to take a lunch break. If I left the plant or ate in the cafe then I would take that time as a lunch break but if I ate at my desk I work through lunch. Why in the world am I now being forced to take a minimum of 30 minutes for lunch? Am I not here long enough as it is? I already don’t have enough work to fill 9 hour of the day and now I have to be in this place for 9 hours and 30 minutes a day. I know this does not seem like much of a pain in the arss but let me assure you it is. Why the change in the rule? Well because my mgr decided to ask HR for interpretation of this statement.
“Work schedules must contain provisions for a lunch period of set duration; the recommended minimum lunch period is one-half hour.”
I may be on glue but in what language does “provision” mean requirement. REALLY!!!!
According to dictionary.com provision means
1.

a clause in a legal instrument, a law, etc., providing for a particular matter;

stipulation; proviso.

2. the providing or supplying of something, esp. of food or other necessities.
3.

arrangement or preparation beforehand, as for the doing of something,

the meeting of needs, the supplying of means, etc.

4. something provided; a measure or other means for meeting a need.
I am no genius but I don’t get REQUIREMENT from any of those definitions!!!!
What a freaking JOKE!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

