Skip to content

Thanksgiving Twist

October 23, 2009

Cooking Thanksgiving dinner? Perhaps its time to try something new? Let me introduce you to the TurDuc-Hen. I first learned about TurDuc-Hen while watching a season of the Next Food Network star. Ever since, I have been fascinated by it. Imagine my surprise when I was browsing one of my favorite stores, the grocery store and I happened upon a premade TurDuc-Hen. Normally I would have bought it on the spot but this item is a little pricy ($69.99). So until I have some money to potentially waste I will just try to convince someone else to try it. If I have sparked your curiosity then you’ll love the technical information below.

A turducken is a dish consisting of a partially de-boned turkey stuffed with a de-boned duck, which itself is stuffed with a small de-boned chicken. The thoracic cavity of the chicken and the rest of the gaps are stuffed, sometimes with a highly seasoned breadcrumb mixture or sausage meat, although some versions have a different stuffing for each bird.
They have been commercially producing turduckens since 1985, when an unknown local farmer brought in his own birds and asked Hebert’s to prepare them in the now-familiar style. The company prepares around 5,000 turduckens per week around Thanksgiving time.
One Comment leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 2:13 pm

    That looks absolutely disgusting. Since when did it become a good idea to stuff meat with stuffed meat??

Leave a Reply

