Skip to content

Chili Cooking Contest

October 15, 2009

I entered my first cooking competition today. I also lost my first cooking competition today. Sadness. The contest was a chili cook-off here at work that was part of an event to raise money for development charities for kids (whatever that is). There were about 40 entrants but I was still feeling good about my chances. Although I did not get to taste any of the other chilies I was pretty impressed with the variety. They had deer chili, chili with squash and zucchini, super meaty chili and super beanie chili. What set my chili apart is my use of low fat turkey kielbasa. Yummy! Because I use chipotle chili powder I decided to rate my concoction as somewhat hot so it was one of the last for the judges to taste. I think the judges taste buds were tired by the time they got to my great chili and that’s the only reason I lost. I thought about protesting but then I remember its not about winning or losing its about the children. So, sadly, no coveted golden chili bowl, silver ladle or bronze spoon for me this year.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 7:12 pm

    I can't think of you in the kitchen without remembering our tofu taco escapade. Yeesh! I guess you've come a long way since then.

Leave a Reply

