Skip to content

Butternut Squash and Crab Bisque

September 28, 2009

Just before I left work on Friday I started thinking about what I wanted to eat for dinner. Mike and I are trying to be good and not eat out too much so I decided I was going to cook something. I started browsing my favorite food websites and decided I was going to make cheese soup, Beer Cheese Soup. Yummy! Recipe in hand I started my trek home. On my way down Collins I drove by Whole Foods, my taste buds got excited and my whole menu changed. While driving down Collins I googled recipes for Butternut Squash and Crab Bisque. I LOVE the Butternut Squash and Crab Bisque from Whole Foods and since I was planning on making a soup anyway, I decided to try this soup instead of cheese soup. The website I found said the recipe was from the Whole Foods chef but I know that’s not true because it tasted nothing like my Whole Foods love. It was good though and I think I would make it again. Its a healthy and very filling soup. The ingredients totalled around $20 and it made 7/2cup servings at about 200 calories per serving. All together, it took me like 3 hours to make this soup so dinner was not ready until near 10pm. On the bright side, I lots of left over roasted garlic to snack on while waiting for the soup to finish. I heart roasted garlic.

2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/2 to 2 pounds butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1 large yellow onion, diced
1 cup fresh carrots, diced
1 cup fresh celery, diced
1 quart chicken broth
4 large cloves garlic, roasted (see note)
1 tablespoon fresh sage leaves, finely chopped
1 cup heavy cream
8 ounces crab claw meat
Salt and pepper, to taste
• Prepare roasted garlic.
• In a large (at least 5 quart) soup pot over medium heat, add the butter and olive oil.
• Once butter is melted, add squash, onions, carrots, celery and garlic. Sauté 5 minutes.
• Add 3 cups of broth, reserving the rest.
• Cover pot and simmer until squash is very tender (about one hour).
• Add the cream and puree the mixture with a stick blender until very smooth (or blend in batches in blender and return to pan).
• Thin with remaining broth if needed.
• Fold in the crab meat and sage. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

