Skip to content

Vacation Whore

July 31, 2009




I have know for a while that I am a vacation whore and so what better way to celebrate Mike and I turning 30 (a year from now) than to take a fantastic vacation. I love to do research about vacations and because this 30 bday trip is a big deal I have already started research for it. Thanks to the Travel channel I found a fantastic couple places in the Caribbean that if we don’t choose for the bday trip, they will be on our eventually must go to before we die list. Those places are The Caves in Negril Jamaica and Jade Mountain on the island of St. Lucia. We are not taking this trip until Christmas of 2010 so I my research is not stopping at fantastic Caribbean resorts. I thought long and hard about what vacations I truly enjoyed and resulted in looking into what cruises are available. I have been fortunate enough to be a 3 time cruise vet and the 4th is scheduled for this Thanksgiving. What I love about cruises is how convenient it is to visit multiple locations but having the stability and comfort of the boat to come back to. I don’t know why but I have an insane desire to go everywhere and see everything. Thanks to Mike I have made tons of progress on achieving this goal but there are still so many amazing places left to see. So, what cruises have caught my eye. Did you know you can take a cruise to Antarctica?!? http://www.expeditions.com/Destination44.asp?Destination=283 How about the Arctic Circle (Land of the Ice Bears) http://www.expeditions.com/Itineraries45.asp?Expedition=154&Destination=285 How freaking cool is that?!? If your not interested in going to a pole then how about Europe and/or Africa. They have cruises that take you from Barcelona or Rome along the Mediterranean and to Alexandria, Egypt! Most of the Egypt stops are 36 hours in port and you can take excursions to Cairo to see the pyramids. Another amazingly cool cruse option is sailing from Hawaii to the South Pacific. Imagine touring Tahiti and French Polynesia and crossing the international date line and ending up in Sydney. OH MY AMAZING! Speaking of Sydney, they also have cruises around Australia and/or New Zealand. So many vacation options so little time and money. Understandably none of the vacations I mentioned are bargain basement travel options. They are however relatively good deals if you consider that the cruise fair covers ALL food and hotel.
Who knows where Mike and I will end up for the big 3-0 celebration. I know I have 17 months until this big vacation but I am already so excited!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 2:34 am

    You know, thats a good way to look forward to turning the dreaded 30.

Leave a Reply

