Skip to content

Blah

July 29, 2009


So my new sister in-law is about to be a Senior in high school. She was at the house last weekend and mentioned that she is in the process of college applications/tours/decision. Mike and I both told her that no matter where she goes or what she does just make sure she will not have a major that ends in a job in a cubicle. She said not to worry. She is a smart girl and likely going to major in environmental science and be a professor or work for national geographic (Nat G O is apparently the cool way to say it). I know that when I was a senior in high school I never thought I would end up in a cubicle. Maybe I saw myself in an office but that’s because cubicle jobs were never highlighted on TV so I did not really know they existed. Fast forward 10 years and I find myself spending 40 hours a week in my 6×6 box with 3 and 3/4 walls and I often wonder, where did I go wrong? When I was a Freshman at TCU I wanting to be a journalist. That slowly faded and I changed my major to Political Science. I guess I was on the path to be a lawyer, maybe? A few bad grades later and my path changed to Criminal Justice as my major and no real clue of what career to have after graduation. I think for a few months during Senior year I assumed I would be a police officer. CAN YOU EVEN IMAGINE THAT?!?! CRAZY! Some how lazy Leanne ended up at LM and fell into a job without even having to interview. At the time it seemed like it was meant to be. 6 years later I am still here. Never in my wildest imagination would I have guessed that at 28 I would be working at LM and doing the job that I do. I did not even know this function/task/position existed 6 years ago! I get zero enjoyment/fulfillment out of this job (besides the paycheck). I realize that I am very fortunate to have a job; I could still be waiting tables (YIKES). The more I think about it the more adamant I am about making sure that Brooke and my future kids wont settling for a job/paycheck like I did.
Mike and I watch a show called The Real Estate Pros and the main guy, Richard said if you don’t love what your doing quit now and go do what your passionate about. I immediately responded with BS. The Leanne of 10 years ago would be so disappointed in me.
Admitting that you have a problem is the first step to recovery. My name is Leanne and I don’t like working in a cubicle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

