Skip to content

HDR

July 17, 2009

While researching my recent adventure into becoming a better photographer I discovered something amazing. Its called High Dynamic Range photography and I think it results in amazing shots. Some people are haters and say it makes scenes look cartoonish and sometimes I agree. But if you don’t go overboard the HDR shots result in the most amazing colors ever. What you do is take at least 3 photos of the same scene but at a range of shutter speeds. It’s important that you change the shutter speed, NOT the aperture — the reason being that since you will be combining several images to make one, you don’t want your Depth of Field to change between shots. Then using software like Photoshop you combine the different exposures into one using a Merge HDR function. SO COOL! Here are some examples of what it should look like. I need a tripod and then I am so going to experiment with this technique.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2009 2:52 pm

    I think i have an extra tripod you can have

  2. July 18, 2009 4:04 pm

    I love it! I want a cool camera like you have and then you can teach me all your photographic wisdom.

Leave a Reply

