Skip to content

Way Fantastic Batter Recipe

June 5, 2009

I was watching one of my favorite TV stations, Food Network, and Barefoot Contessa was frying up some fish. I was bored, I like to cook, and I love to eat so I decided to fry me up some fish. I thawed some shrimp and a fillet of Mahi Mahi. Food TIP: Do not use microwave to thaw fish! Put fish/shrimp in cold water and it will thaw in about 10 minutes). The recipe for the batter is below. I have only used this batter for shrimp and fish but I bet chicken would be fantastic as well.

protein – fish, shrimp, chx

1/2 C plus 1 T flour

1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t lemon zest (can omit if you want)

1/2 t cayanne (or more if you want)

1 t salt

1t pepper

1/2 C water

1 egg

Wish all ingredients together. Slice fish or chicken in to smaller 1-2 inch portions. Heat vegetable oil in pan. Dip protein in batter and fry until golden brown. Dont be afraid to cut a piece of fish/chx to make sure it is cooked. I love malt vinegar on my fish but all I had in the house was balsalmic so I used it and it was FANTASTIC.
Although this meal is fried just remember because it is homemade it is healthier than any fast food so dont feel guilty.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

