Skip to content

New Hobby

December 18, 2008

I am 1 week from my 28th birthday and so I have decided to accept my place as a soon to be old woman and I am taking up knitting. Last night I stopped at Wal-mart and picked up a book, needled and yarn. Around 730 I sat down and started trying to figure this new hobby out. The first step in knitting is tying a slipknot and casting on. I figured this out in under 5 minutes so I was feeling pretty good about myself. The next step I tried was a knit stitch. This is the most basic stitch in knitting and it almost beat me. It took 3 hours, 2 websites, 1 book and a temper tantrum for me to finally figure out this stitch. By the time I figured out the stitch I was tired and had a massive hand cramp. So far my effort paid off but I have a lot more to learn. Fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 19, 2008 6:06 am

    When I was in second grade my grandmother taught me how to crochet. (I think its similar to knitting, but you only have one needle instead of two.) Anyway, every time I decide I want to crochet something, I always end up giving up halfway through. I can make a really fantastic long chain, but I can’t ever figure out how to turn back around and follow it up with the rest of the blanket. It always ends up uneven and lumpy at the ends. Good luck with the knitting!

Leave a Reply

