Skip to content

Random blog while watching TV

November 8, 2008

I played recreational sports when I was younger and I remember loving it. After nearly a year of Mike playing on a hockey team, I decided to join a soccer team. I played soccer for about 9 years growing up but I was still worried about my skills level. Fortunately the fire was lit (I had been drinking) and I did not procrastinate about going through with this decision. I harnessed the power of the internet (used Google) search and found the North Texas Women’s Soccer Association (NTWSA) website. Within a week, I turned in my paperwork, sent my check and I was on the Panthers team. Our season started in the end of August and went through early November. Although we lost 9 games and tied the other 2 I loved every minute of playing. I hadn’t played an organized sport in nearly 10 years! The closest I came to playing any sport was bowling. I honestly intend to keep playing as long as my body will allow. The NTWSA has teams all the way up to age group 60+. Can you even imagine play on a soccer team at 60?!? Those women are amazing and I hope I get to be one of them in 35 or so years. In the meantime, I am trying to join an outdoor coed, indoor women’s and indoor coed team so I may be a busy girl soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

